Saturday, April 21, 2018

Thursday, April 19, 2018

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

PREORDAINED by David L. Wallace


Preordained
David L Wallace

Genre: Paranormal, Crime, Thriller
Date of Publication: 13 Apr 2018
ISBN: Paperback 978-0-9972257-2-3
ISBN eBook 978-0-9972257-3-0
Word Count: 75,000
Book Description:

In the vein of Seven and The Devil’s Advocate, it’s the book that launches the series: a tech billionaire, foretold in biblical events; a cop, ordered to sacrifice his soul to save his son…

Art Somers is a detective in close-knit Murrells Inlet, S.C., a small-town, coastal community with deeply held spiritual and supernatural belief systems. A serial killer has shattered his peaceful existence by abducting multiple victims within his county. Young thugs, backwater drug dealers and the occasional murderer are the most Art’s had to deal with, but now he must apprehend a predator who FBI profilers can’t find.

He discovers he has a tie by blood to the case and uncovers evidence that calls into question his long held spiritual and supernatural beliefs. Abraham, the father of faith, had to choose to either sacrifice his son or disobey a direct order from God. Art must now make a choice - sacrifice his soul to save his son.

“A riveting and intriguing read.”  - Clarion Review

“A gripping detective story.”  - Kirkus Reviews

“Original and engaging.”  - Publisher’s Weekly

Amazon     BN     Kobo     iTunes

About the Author:
Before publishing his debut novel in 2016, he served over 27 years as an information technology professional working initially for the US Navy, and then the Department of the Navy and various fortune companies. He’s a UCLA writing program alumnus who writes mystery thrillers and children stories. He has three wonderful kids who he enjoys immensely. Writing is his passion and his goal with each story is to capture the imagination in the opening pages and keep it engaged to the story’s riveting conclusion.






Tour Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, April 16, 2018

Monday Movie Review - VERONICA

I'm very cautious about films other people rave about as being among the Top Ten Best, or as being "one of the most horrific movies" they've ever seen. Having read some rave reviews about this one, I took a chance.

Veronica is about a teenager who, along with two of her friends, uses a Ouija board during an eclipse to allow her to speak to her recently deceased father. Unfortunately, another spirit, one very malevolent, comes through the portal they inadvertently open, and it attaches itself to Veronica. As she tries to understand what happened, and subsequently fights to undo what she caused, the spirit focuses its attention on her three younger and more vulnerable siblings.

This film is an import from Spain, so expect subtitles. The acting is top-notch all around. The effects are great. And there are a few jump scares. But other than the first five minutes, which raised the hairs on my head, there was little else to get excited about. 

This movie is reportedly based on a true incident, which made for interesting additional reading. But overall, my recommendation is that you


Saturday, April 14, 2018

Monday, April 9, 2018

Monday Movie Review - PYEWACKET

The artwork first caught my eye, and the blurb sounded promising. After the recent death of her father, a young teen and her mother are trying to cope, but the two are at odds with each other. Unable to take her mother's demands any longer, the girl decides to place a death curse on her mother. Immediately, stuff starts to happen, and the teen decides that maybe that wasn't such a good idea. But when she tries to remove the curse, the pyewacket goes all out to prevent her from doing it, and sets out to fulfill the girl's initial wish.

The acting is decent, particularly the lead roles. And, as you've probably already heard, this is a slow-burn film. A very slow burn. Don't expect much blood, and there's no overt gore because the horror is 90% psychological. Some really good effects are in this film, there are a couple of jump scares, and the ending is satisfying. But overall, it's not the type of film I would watch again.

Which is why my recommendation is that you